Thursday, May 16, 2013

Review: The Killing Times ~ Morgan Kelley (Blog Tour Stop)

The Killing Times ~ An FBI/Romance Thriller.

Thank you to everyone that has contacted me!
I hope you love the story behind Elizabeth, Ethan and Callen as much as I do.
The killing Times is the first book in the series, and starts the journey of Elizabeth LaRue and Ethan Blackhawk.
The two come together despite the odds, and find the one thing we all want and search for every day.
True love.
I hope you enjoy the journey!
Much love!
Morgan Kelley

Review by Tara Cross


In this book by Author Morgan Kelley, we are introduced to Elizabeth LaRue. She’s a fallen angel of the FBI, who has returned home after a life altering incident. Once home, she takes over the position of Sheriff that her father had once held until his death.

While in Salem, as sheriff there are a string of odd murders that pique her interest. Slowly as they unfold, Elizabeth finds out they stretch back to before her father’s death.

Salem has a killer.

The sleepy southern town is rocked to its core, that one of their own is killing women to mimic the Salem witch trials. Each method is different, but the same thing is common throughout. Someone is hell bent on taking lives and tormenting Elizabeth.

In comes the FBI, and sexy Special Agent Ethan Blackhawk. From the minute they meet, the sparks fly and the two become a hot and heavy romance. As their love progresses, the killer is more determined to kill the only person that can stop him.


Before the end of the book, everything in Elizabeth’s life is questioned, turned upside down and risked.

I really enjoyed this novel. It was an easy ready, but still made you wonder who the killer was until the end. The author peppered it with clues and pointed you in the right direction. She made it fun and enjoyable from the first page to the last.  This reminded me of a beach read. It was just under 400 pages and kept me interested the entire time.

The sex scenes were heartfelt, meaningful and steamy. By the end I wanted to change my name and be Elizabeth.

The mix of humor, entertainment and thriller were well balanced and you honestly started to believe that Elizabeth could be one of your girlfriends, with her quick wit, funny comebacks and genuine heart.

All in all, this was an excellent first book to kick off the series. There was just enough character development to make me want to continue the series.



Morgan Kelley lives in the beautiful Pocono Mountains with her husband and two children.  After attending college at Penn State University and studying Criminal Justice, Morgan knew here only true passion in life would be murder and books.  She put them both together and began her career as a writer.  Other than books and writing, you can find Morgan hanging out in her garden and digging in the dirt.

Her other works include: The Junction, Serial Sins, The Killing Times (book 1), Sacred Burial Grounds (book 2), True Love Lost (book 3), Deep Dark Mire (book 4), Fire Burns hot (book 5) The Blood Betrayal, The Blood Redemption, The Blood Vengeance, and The Blood Retribution.

Upcoming Projects and Released Projects

FBI Stand Alones

The Junction

Serial Sins

The FBI Series

Darkness Of Truth ~ Out summer of 2013

Home Sweet Evil ~ Out for Halloween 2013


The Blood Series - Vampyres

The Blood Betrayal - Currently only available in paperback

The Blood Seduction ~ Christmas 2013


The Private Investigator Series

Stolen by Moonlight (1) out fall of 2013


The Croft & Croft Series

Vegas is Dying - Out fall 2013 


Please feel free to visit Morgan at her website:,  drop her an email at, or pop into her blog at



No comments:

Post a Comment