Friday, August 2, 2013

The Gathering: Book One of the Lia Fail Chronicles


The Gathering : Book One of the Lia Fail Chronicles is the first in a new Paranormal, Fantasy, Adventure Series.

The final world war has happened and everything we knew is now gone.  No more countries.  No more government, only survivors who have created a new world made up of small colonies.  It is thirteen years later and the village of Lia Fail sits peacefully above the Hollywood Reservoir in the Santa Monica Mountains.  The settlement is making ready for the fall Gathering, a time when every six months the other colonies from various parts of what was once Southern California visit for ten days of fun and reminiscence.  The Gathering begins as any other, new loves, dancing and general merry making, but that soon changes.  

The people of Lia Fail begin to see magic around them, several are attacked by unseen forces and friends begin to distrust friends.  When they receive news of a horrific massacre, they must face a nightmare as a dark evil descends on the tranquil village.  Alia Stark, the queen of Lia Fail, must face this darkness along side her oldest and dearest friends, as well as an incredible new ally, as the fate of her people and the lives of her children rest in her hands.  Will her new magic be strong enough to save those she loves the most?  Will she have the courage to do what must be done?  This is the beginning of a journey that will change all of their lives forever.


S. L. Dearing was raised in California and grew up in Arizona.  Shannon attended Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, studying biology, then moved to Los Angeles where she spent several years studying at Los Angeles City College’s renowned Television/ Film program. She has worked on several film projects in many capacities, like First A.D. and Producer.  She is a book reviewer for the Big Blend Magazine and has her own blog where she posts about life and books.  Shannon has been writing since grade school, but over the years she has written several screenplays, poems and short stories.  She has stories in three anthologies: Apocalypse: An Anthology by Readers & Authors and Paranormal Anthology with a TWIST, and Scarlet Sins through Phoenix Fire Publishing.  The Gathering is her first novel.  She is also currently writing for a Web series, that will hopefully begin airing later this year and is working on a sequel to The Gathering and a project with Rene Folsom.  Shannon currently lives in the No Ho Arts District of the San Fernando Valley of Southern California.

Twitter: @sldearing (

No comments:

Post a Comment